What are Visa Reciprocity Fees?

Reciprocal visa policy is one in which a country imposes visa requirements on citizens from a certain country in reaction to that country’s visa policies toward the first country. In other words, if Country A decides to impose a visa fee on citizens arriving from Country B, then Country B is likely to impose a similar visa fee on citizens visiting from Country A.

Photo of Scott Keyes

Hi, I'm Scott, founder of Scott's Cheap Flights. Every day, my team and I send our 2 million members incredible flight deals—like $200 to Hawaii, $290 to Barcelona, or $350 to Hong Kong—with an average savings of $550 per ticket.

Sign Up Now

Additional requirements to get a visa may include fees or fingerprinting, and there may also be limits placed on how long certain nationals can be in a country.

Country A and Country B may also reach an agreement to ease or waive visa requirements to one another’s citizens as a gesture of friendliness and trust. That’s also visa reciprocity, though the term is used much more frequently to describe the imposition (rather than the waiver) of visas or visa fees.

Which countries have visa reciprocity fees for US travelers?

The list of countries that charge visa fees to visiting US citizens occasionally changes, so even if you don’t see your destination on this list it’s a good idea to check with the latest requirements on the US State Department’s international travel section. Search for the name of the country and then expand the “Entry, Exit, and Visa Requirements” section for details and links to get whatever documents you might need.

The countries listed below all require US citizens to have a visa in order to travel there, though not all require that travelers get the visa beforehand. Some have e-visas you can get online within 24 hours of departing for your trip, some have visas you get (paying in cash) upon arrival, and others have a complicated paperwork process you’ll want to start well in advance.

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Belarus
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Chad
  • China
  • Congo
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Cuba
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Republic of Guinea
  • India
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • North Korea
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar (Burma)
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Sudan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uganda
  • Uzbekistan
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zimbabwe

Last Updated 
July 23, 2022